ORLT-Protected Land

Most conservation easements are private property and not open to the public unless otherwise indicated. All locations are approximate.


This 151-acre property protects a tributary of Coody Creek, with mesic hardwoods and pine forests managed with fire for wildlife habitat and species diversity. Frequent fire management supports diverse wildlife, including turkeys and coveys of quail.

The Oconee River Land Trust holds over 200 conservation easements, protecting more than 42,000 acres of land in 46 Georgia counties. In 2020, ORLT accepted its first out-of-state CE, protecting nearly 180 acres of land in Edgefield County, S.C. Georgia counties with conservation easements are:


Banks, Baldwin, Barrow, Bibb, Butts, Chatham, Cherokee, Clarke, Coweta, Crawford, DeKalb, Effingham, Elbert, Emanuel, Franklin, Fulton, Gordon, Greene, Hancock, Heard, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Madison, Meriwether, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Pickens, Putnam, Spalding, Taliaferro, Troup, Twiggs, Upson, Walton, Warren, Washington, White, Wilkes, Wilkinson

Georgia is one of the top 10 fastest-growing states in the country. Your donation directly helps us protect Georgia's wilderness and working lands, clean drinking water, and wildlife habitat for current and future residents of our beautiful state. 

(706) 552-3138

©2019 by Oconee River Land Trust. Proudly created with Wix.com